8th Sunday of Matthew
Sunday, July 22, 2018
Today is Fast Free
Visit the Online Chapel for more daily readings, hymns, a monthly calendar of saints and feasts, and more.
Our FaithLiturgy

"We knew not whether we were in heaven or on earth, for surely there is no such splendor or beauty anywhere on earth. We cannot describe it to you; we only know that God dwells there among men and that their Service surpasses the worship of all other places..." Learn more»


Annunciation Greek Orthodox Cathedral of Chicago

"Welcome one another, therefore, just as Christ has welcomed you, for the glory of God." — Romans 15:7

Centrally located near the heart of the city, the Annunciation Greek Orthodox Cathedral is the oldest church edifice built specifically as a Greek Orthodox Church in the Metropolis of Chicago.

Established by the original Greek Orthodox community in the city in 1892, the church was built on its present site in 1910 and faithfully models the Byzantine-Renaissance style of architecture.

Throughout its sacramental life the community and her clergy have served every level of society through a wide range or programs and services. As Cathedral for the Metropolis of Chicago, the church serves as a focal point for major Metropolis ministries such as the "Feed the Hungry" program, and Metropolis and Clergy conferences.

As cathedral, the Church of the Annunciation is the seat of the Metropolitan of Chicago, spiritual father and bishop to sixty parishes and two monastic communities in the states of Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Minnesota, Missouri and Wisconsin. more»


Schedule of Services

Sundays
Orthros (Matins): 8:15 AM
Divine Liturgy: 9:45 AM
Sunday School immediately following Holy Communion
Fellowship and coffee following Liturgy

Complete schedule of services.

Orthros & Divine Liturgy
+St Paraskevi
Thursday, July 26 – 9:00 AM

Orthros & Divine Liturgy
+St Panteleimon
Friday, July 27 – 9:00 AM

Orthros and Divine Liturgy
Sunday School Begins immediately after Holy Communion
Sunday, July 29 – 8:15 AM

Paraklesis Service
Wednesday, August 1 – 6:00 PM

Paraklesis Service
Friday, August 3 – 6:00 PM

Orthros and Divine Liturgy
Sunday School Begins immediately after Holy Communion
Sunday, August 5 – 8:15 AM

Orthros & Divine Liturgy
+Holy Transfiguration
Monday, August 6 – 9:00 AM

Paraklesis Service
Wednesday, August 8 – 6:00 PM

Paraklesis Service
Friday, August 10 – 6:00 PM

Orthros and Divine Liturgy
Sunday School Begins immediately after Holy Communion
Sunday, August 12 – 8:15 AM

Paraklesis Service
Monday, August 13 – 6:00 PM

Orthros & Divine Liturgy
+Dormition of the Mother of God
Wednesday, August 15 – 9:00 AM

Orthros and Divine Liturgy
Sunday School Begins immediately after Holy Communion
Sunday, August 19 – 8:15 AM

Feed The Hungry
Annunciation Cathedral
Tuesday, July 31 – 11:30 AM

Feed The Hungry
Annunciation Cathedral
Tuesday, August 14 – 11:30 AM