Our FaithLiturgy

"We knew not whether we were in heaven or on earth, for surely there is no such splendor or beauty anywhere on earth. We cannot describe it to you; we only know that God dwells there among men and that their Service surpasses the worship of all other places..." Learn more»


Annunciation Greek Orthodox Cathedral of Chicago

"Welcome one another, therefore, just as Christ has welcomed you, for the glory of God." — Romans 15:7

Centrally located near the heart of the city, the Annunciation Greek Orthodox Cathedral is the oldest church edifice built specifically as a Greek Orthodox Church in the Metropolis of Chicago.

Established by the original Greek Orthodox community in the city in 1892, the church was built on its present site in 1910 and faithfully models the Byzantine-Renaissance style of architecture.

Throughout its sacramental life the community and her clergy have served every level of society through a wide range or programs and services. As Cathedral for the Metropolis of Chicago, the church serves as a focal point for major Metropolis ministries such as the "Feed the Hungry" program, and Metropolis and Clergy conferences.

As cathedral, the Church of the Annunciation is the seat of the Metropolitan of Chicago, spiritual father and bishop to 58 parishes and two monastic communities in the states of Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Minnesota, Missouri and Wisconsin. more»


Schedule of Services

Sundays
Orthros (Matins): 8:15 AM
Divine Liturgy: 9:45 AM

Complete schedule of services.

Orthros and Divine Liturgy
Sunday School Begins immediately after Holy Communion
Sunday, October 1 – 8:15 AM

Orthros and Divine Liturgy
Sunday School Begins immediately after Holy Communion
Sunday, October 8 – 8:15 AM

Orthros and Divine Liturgy
Sunday School Begins immediately after Holy Communion
Sunday, October 15 – 8:15 AM

Orthros and Divine Liturgy
Feast of St. Gerasimos & St. Artemios
Friday, October 20 – 8:30 AM

Orthros and Divine Liturgy
Sunday School Begins immediately after Holy Communion
Sunday, October 22 – 8:15 AM

Great Vespers
Saint Demetrios Greek Orthodox Church 2727 W Winona St, Chicago, IL 60625, United States
Wednesday, October 25 – 7:00 PM

Orthros and Hierarchical Divine Liturgy
Saint Demetrios Greek Orthodox Church 2727 W Winona St, Chicago, IL 60625, United States
Thursday, October 26 – 8:30 AM

Children's Greek.
Monday, October 2 – 5:00 PM

Feed the Hungry
Annunciation
Tuesday, October 3 – 11:30 AM

Children's Greek.
Monday, October 9 – 5:00 PM

Feed the Hungry
Annunciation
Tuesday, October 10 – 11:30 AM

Children's Greek.
Monday, October 16 – 5:00 PM

Feed the Hungry
Annunciation
Tuesday, October 17 – 11:30 AM

Children's Greek.
Monday, October 23 – 5:00 PM

Feed the Hungry
Annunciation
Tuesday, October 24 – 11:30 AM

Philoptochos Meeting
Tuesday, October 24 – 7:00 PM